The Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards honor the co-inventor of Kodachrome film, a man whose contributions have had a major and lasting impact on photography. Established in 1987, the international awards recognize excellence in the field of contemporary color photography and are gathered via nominations from a prestigious, international group of curators, critics, editors, and educators.  The awards were made possible through the generosity of Godowsky, Jr.’s late wife, Frances Gershwin Godowsky, in counsel with her son, Leopold Godowsky III.  Over the course of seven award cycles the awards have bolstered the careers of some 30 individual artists representing more than 18 countries. 

2014 Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards >>

First Place: 
Louie Palu (District of Columbia, USA)
Nominated by: Alison Nordström, George Eastman House

Honorable Mentions:
Aaron Blum (PA, USA) 
Nominated by: Adam Ryan, Carnegie Museum of Art

Alejandro Cartagena (Mexico) 
Nominated by: Becky Senf, Center for Creative Photography
Bastienne Schmidt (NY, USA) 
Nominated by: Kevin Miller, Southeast Museum of Photography

Please note: artists for the Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards are selected by nomination only.

Please note, all information is adapted from past PRC publications of their respective years, and thus represents the artists' residence and work as interpreted by the PRC at the time of their awards.

Awards and Regions
2009 - International; read the announcement
2005 - International

2001 - Africa
1998 - Asia
1993 - Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States
1991 - Mexico, Central, and South America
1988 - North America

Additional Information
Links Related to Color Photography
Timeline of Color Photography
Images of the 2009 Godowsky Awards installation and reception

Images of the 2005 Godowsky Awards installation

Previous Godowsky Award Winners and Jurors (1988 - 2009):


Claudia Angelmaier (Germany)
Philip Kwame Apagya (Ghana)
Gianantonio Battistella (Italy)
Luiz Braga (Brazil)
Héctor Méndez Caratini (Puerto Rico)
Bruce Charlesworth (MN, USA)
Alejandro Chaskielberg (Argentina)
Tim Davis (NY, USA)
Rafael Goldchain (Canada)
Anthony Haughey (Republic of Ireland)
Eiji Ina (Japan)
Nicholas Kahn and Richard Selesnick (NY and MA, USA)
John Kiyaya (Tanzania)
Salvador Lutteroth (Mexico)
Peter Magubane (South Africa)
Curtis Mann (IL, USA)
Knut-Wolfgang Maron (Germany)
Patrick Nagatani and Andrée Tracey (NM, USA and CA, USA)
Olivier Richon (England)
Andrea Robbins and Max Becher (NY and FL, USA)
Paul Seawright (Northern Ireland)
Yinka Shonibare (Nigeria)
Jem Southam (England)
Manit Sriwanichpoom (India)
Alex Webb (NY, USA)
Miwa Yanagi (Japan)
Anne Zahalka (Australia)


Charles Biasiny-Rivera, William Ewing, Merry Foresta, Hannah Frieser, Noriko Fuku, Elizabeth ten Grotenhuis, Karen Irvine, Corinne Jennings, Martha Langford, Susana Leval, Helaine Posner, Charles Stainback, Anne Wilkes Tucker, Brian Wallis, Deborah Willis, and Sylvia Wolf.