look back  

Submission Information for the
Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards (2014)

Click here to download an exhibit guide with:

  • Curators' Statement
  • Artists' Statement
  • Check List

2014 Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards

The Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards honor Leopold Godowsky, Jr., the co-inventor of Kodachrome film. Established by the Godowsky family in 1987 and held every four years, the awards recognize "achieved excellence in color photography." For the 2014 awards, the PRC sought nominations from hundreds of photography experts around the world, including directors, gallery owners, curators, educators, and critics. Over one hundred and fifty artists submitted work for consideration by the jury.

Focusing on emerging and under-recognized artists and new approaches to color photography, the 2014 Godowsky Color Awards were granted on the basis of the strength and originality of the photographic work. The 2014 awards were international and open to artists working in any form of color photography. In addition to cash prizes, the four award winners will have their work featured in an exhibition at the PRC gallery, January 21 - March 22, 2014.

Though Kodachrome was discontinued shortly before the previous Godowsky Color Awards in 2009, the PRC recognizes the legacy of Godowsky and celebrates the diverse and innovative approaches to color photography today. With the 2014 Godowsky Color Awards, the PRC offers an inspiring exhibition to the New England region and the world.

Click here to download an exhibit guide with:

  • Curator’s Statement
  • Artists’ Statements
  • Check List

A Look Back

Read a history of the Leopold, Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards >>

Learn more and view images from the past Godowsky Color Awards >>


Award Recipients

First Place: 
Louie Palu (District of Columbia, USA)
Nominated by: Alison Nordström, George Eastman House

Honorable Mentions:
Aaron Blum (PA, USA) 
Nominated by: Adam Ryan, Carnegie Museum of Art

Alejandro Cartagena (Mexico) 
Nominated by: Becky Senf, Center for Creative Photography
Bastienne Schmidt (NY, USA) 
Nominated by: Kevin Miller, Southeast Museum of Photography


  • Roy Flukinger, Senior Research Curator, Harry Ransom Center, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Nathalie Herschdorfer, Director, Alt + 1000 Photography Festival, Switzerland
  • Francine Weiss, Curator and Loupe Editor, Photographic Resource Center, Boston


  • One first place winner to receive $1,250 USD
  • Three honorable mention winners to receive $750 USD
  • First place and honorable mention winners' work will be exhibited at the Photographic Resource Center January 21, 2014 through March 22, 2014.
  • First place and honorable mention winners will be featured in a publication to accompany the exhibition.
  • The PRC will provide payment towards travel expenses for the winners to attend the opening reception and payment toward shipping work to and from the PRC.

Important Dates

  • Nominations Deadline: Friday, June 7, 2013 at 11:59 EST
  • Submissions Open: Monday, June 10, 2013
  • Submission Deadline: Friday, July 19, 2013 at 11:59pm EST
  • Selected Photographers Announced: September 17, 2013
  • Gallery Exhibition: January 21, 2014 – March 22, 2014