The PRC is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards:

Claudia Angelmaier (Germany)
Alejandro Chaskielberg (Argentina)
Curtis Mann (IL, USA)
Nicholas Kahn and Richard Selesnick (NY and MA, USA)

Listed below is more information on the 2009 winning artists, honorable mention, and nominators as well as past award recipients.

The Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards honor the co-inventor of Kodachrome film, a man whose contributions have had a major and lasting impact on photography. For this year's award, the PRC sought nominations from close to 200 top directors, curators, critics, and authors in the photographic and contemporary art communities. Eighty-five artists and artist teams submitted their work for the jury, which was held in May. Jurors for the 2009 Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards were William Ewing, Director, Musée de l'Elysée (Lausanne, Switzerland) and Hannah Frieser, Director, Light Work (Syracuse, NY, USA), as well as Leslie K. Brown, PRC Curator (Boston) and Jennifer Uhrhane, Godowsky Curatorial Fellow (Boston).

The awards were granted based on the criterion of excellence, as represented by a recent portfolio of color images produced in the last two years, with this cycle focusing on emerging artists and new approaches. Each of the winning artists or artist team will receive USD$2,500. In addition to the exhibition at the PRC, a full-color brochure will be published, and a special online component will be launched.

By acknowledging such international photographic talent, the PRC hopes to bring to light issues not only important to individual photographers and the global arts community, but also to introduce new work to this region. The 2009 Awards represent a truly diverse array of approaches to color photography and will be an important event for the PRC, the city of Boston, as well as the legacy of Godowsky and color film.


Claudia Angelmaier
Born 1972 in Göppingen, Germany;
Lives and works Leipzig and Berlin, Germany
Nominated by Laurel Ptak, I Heart Photograph blog

Alejandro Chaskielberg
Born 1977 in Buenos Aires, Argentina;
Lives and works
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Nominated by Miriam Romais, Executive Director & Editor, En Foco,
New York, NY, USA

Curtis Mann
Born 1979 in Dayton, Ohio, USA;
Lives and works Chicago, Illinois, USA
Nominated by Karen Irvine, Curator, Museum of Contemporary Photography, Columbia College, Chicago, IL, USA

Nicholas Kahn and Richard Selesnick
Kahn born 1964 in New York, New York, USA;
Lives and works Coxsackie and Brooklyn, New York, USA
Selesnick born 1964 in London, UK;
Lives and works Truro, Massachusetts and Brooklyn, New York, USA

Nominated by Leslie Umberger, Senior Curator, John Michael Kohler Arts Center, Sheboygan, WI, USA

Seung Woo Back
Born 1973, Taejon, South Korea;
Lives and works Seoul, South Korea and London, UK

Nominated by ChuYoung LEE, Curator, National Museum of Contemporary Art, Seoul, South Korea and Keum Hyun Han, Visiting Scholar, University of Colorado at Boulder and Independent Curator, Seoul, South Korea


Established in 1987, the international Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards recognize excellence in the field of contemporary color photography and are gathered via nominations from a prestigious, international group of curators, critics, editors, and educators.  Over the course of 7 award cycles—with the first presented in 1988, and the most recent in 2005—the awards have bolstered the careers of some 30 individual artists representing over 18 countries.  This year's award winners join a prestigious legacy as demonstrated by the below list.

Previous Godowsky Award Winners and Jurors:


Philip Kwame Apagya (Ghana)
Gianantonio Battistella (Italy)
Luiz Braga (Brazil)
Héctor Méndez Caratini (Puerto Rico)
Bruce Charlesworth (MN, USA)
Tim Davis (NY, USA)
Rafael Goldchain (Canada)
Anthony Haughey (Republic of Ireland)
Eiji Ina (Japan)
John Kiyaya (Tanzania)
Salvador Lutteroth (Mexico)
Peter Magubane (South Africa)
Knut-Wolfgang Maron (Germany)
Patrick Nagatani and Andrée Tracey (NM, USA and CA, USA)
Olivier Richon (England)
Andrea Robbins and Max Becher (NY and FL, USA)
Paul Seawright (Northern Ireland)
Yinka Shonibare (Nigeria)
Jem Southam (England)
Manit Sriwanichpoom (India)
Alex Webb (NY, USA)
Miwa Yanagi (Japan)
Anne Zahalka (Australia)

Please note: artists for the Leopold Godowsky, Jr. Color Photography Awards are selected by nomination only.


Charles Biasiny-Rivera, Merry Foresta, Noriko Fuku, Elizabeth ten Grotenhuis, Karen Irvine, Corinne Jennings, Martha Langford, Susana Leval, Helaine Posner, Charles Stainback, Anne Wilkes Tucker, Brian Wallis, Deborah Willis, and Sylvia Wolf.