>> Christine Collins
>> Keiko Hiromi
>> Dave Jordano
>> Thomas Ladd
>> William Rugen
>> Bryan Schutmaat
>> Tara Sellios
>> Frank Ward

>> EXPOSURE 2013

Bryan Schutmaat
Grays the Mountain Sends

* Best of Show Award

Click here to visit the artist's website >>

Bryan Schutmaat, Ralph, Moorcroft, Wyoming from the series Grays the Mountain Sends,
Inkjet Print, 2011.

Artist Statement
Grays the Mountain Sends combines portraits, landscapes, and still-lifes in a series of photos that explores the lives of working people residing in small mountain towns and mining communities in the American West. Equipped with a large format view camera, and inspired by the poetry of Richard Hugo, I hint at narratives and relay the experiences of strangers met in settings that spur my own emotions. Ultimately, this body of work is a meditation on small town life, the landscape, and more importantly, the inner landscapes of common men.

Artist Bio
Bryan Schutmaat is a photographer whose work has been widely exhibited and published in the United States and overseas. He has earned numerous honors, including the first place prize in CENTER’s 2013 Gallerist Choice Awards as well as Houston Center for Photography’s Carol Crow Memorial Fellowship in 2011. He was also a winner in Magenta Foundation’s Flash Forward 2013. Bryan’s photos have been featured in countless magazines and media outlets, such as Hotshoe International, VICE, Esquire Russia, CNN, The Sunday Times, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Aesthetica, Houston Chronicle, and The Collector’s Guide to Emerging Art Photography, among many others. His editorial clients include Bloomberg Businessweek, Dwell, The Wire, Inc., Telegraph UK, New York Times, and many more. He holds a BA in history from the University of Houston and an MFA in photography from Hartford Art School. Bryan’s photos can be found in the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and numerous private collections. His work will be shown this fall at Catherine Edelman Gallery in Chicago, and his first monograph, Grays the Mountain Sends, will be published in 2014.